Two Awards from Art Libraries Society of North America -application deadline: December 18, 2022

Dear Future Librarians,

I am excited to share with you the announcement below on behalf of the ARLIS/NA (Art Libraries Society of North America) Student Advancement Award committee. ARLIS/NA is a group devoted to the professional development of art librarians. In addition to art librarians, our membership includes archivists, architecture librarians, visual resources professionals and students interested in becoming art information professionals. Each year, ARLIS/NA provides awards for current and future art librarians. I hope you will consider applying for one of the awards described below.

Perhaps you are a student who has written a paper that you’re especially proud of, and you want the opportunity to share it with the wider ARLIS/NA Community AND get a $500 prize plus a scholarship to attend the upcoming conference in Mexico City?

Or maybe you’ve got an internship in an art library planned for next year, and you’d like to get paid for it?

Now’s your chance! Please see below for more information on the Student Advancement Awards.

Applications should be submitted to committee chair, Gwen Mayhew, at [email protected].

The awards committee members are: Debra Riley-Huff, Giana Ricci, Larry Eames, Jessica Craig, Virginia Seymour and Heather Saunders.

All best,

Gwen Mayhew


Art Libraries Society of North America (ARLIS/NA)

Student Advancement Awards

Submission deadline for both awards – Sunday, December 18th, 2022

Gerd Muehsam Award

The Gerd Muehsam Award is given annually to recognize excellence in a graduate student paper or project on a topic relevant to art librarianship. Any student enrolled in an accredited graduate library program, or in a graduate program in art history or a related discipline, is encouraged to submit a paper or online project created in conjunction with a course assignment during the previous eighteen months (since June 2021). One submission per person. Applications should be submitted via e-mail to [email protected]

To apply, please submit the following:

·  Paper or online project about a topic relevant to art librarianship, written as a course assignment.

·  An abstract of 250 words and 10-25 pages typed, double-spaced, for a paper submission, or a 250-word summary for an online project.

·  A title page that includes the student’s name, the name of the institution, the course for which the submission was created, and the name of the faculty member assigning the paper/project.

·  Applicants must include their mailing address, email address, and telephone number with their applications.

The award includes:

·  $500.00 prize.

·  Conference registration and up to $300 travel reimbursement to attend the ARLIS/NA 51st Annual Conference in Mexico City, April 18th-21st

·  Opportunity to present the winning paper at the conference as part of the New Voices in the Profession panel.

·  One-year membership to ARLIS/NA.

For more information, see 


Wolfgang M. Freitag Internship Award

The Wolfgang M. Freitag Internship Award aims to represent the multifaceted nature of the art library field by providing a paid internship opportunity to a student currently enrolled in, or having completed within the last 12 months, a graduate program in library and information science, art history, architectural history, architecture, studio art, or museum studies. Applications should be submitted via e-mail to [email protected].

To apply, please submit the following:

·  A current résumé.

·  A current transcript in PDF format (unofficial transcript is acceptable).

·  The names of two professional or scholastic references with addresses, telephone numbers, and email addresses.

·  An essay of up to 900 words addressing your skills, background, and expectations of the internship experience, including the type of institution you are interested in as well as potential project ideas. The essay should also address the following questions:

o What are your professional goals and how do your plans for the experience funded by the ARLIS/NA Wolfgang M. Freitag Internship Award fit into your career path?  In particular, how do you imagine this internship experience to be different than previous internship or work experiences?

o This award funds a one-year membership in ARLIS/NA. How do you see yourself participating in ARLIS/NA, or another professional organization, in your future professional life?

o If granted the internship award, when do you plan to fulfill it? 

The award includes:

·  $3,000 to support a 150-hour internship in an art library or visual resources collection. 

For more information, see

All applicants will be notified of the results by January 31, 2023. Both awards will be announced and presented during convocation ceremonies at the 51st Annual ARLIS/NA Conference in Mexico City in April, 2023. 

Questions? Contact Gwen Mayhew, Chair, Student Advancement Award Subcommittee – [email protected]