DLIS/H.W. Wilson Professional Development Scholarship

The Wilson scholarship is awarded to DLIS students who have their work recognized or published by a professional association.

Eligibility criteria: Proof of publication of applicant’s research (acceptance letter, conference program, etc.) completed while enrolled in DLIS, submitted via email to the Director of DLIS.

Award amount: $500 per academic year.

Students in DLIS may apply for the DLIS/H.W. Wilson Professional Scholarship once per fiscal year (July 1 – June 30).

Scholarship Winners


Samantha Angarola

Title: Reignite Your Programming: Executing a Yearlong Series

New York Library Association Annual Conference, November 2, 2023.

Nicole K. Rivas

Title: The Material Biography and Sartorial Remembrance of my Abuelita Martha

The Fashion and Race Database, December 2022

2022: Not Awarded

2021: Not Awarded


Kyle Brinster

Title: Flipping the Switch: The Emotional Toll of Change in Information Organization Environments

Bridging the Spectrum Symposium 2020, Catholic University of America, February 14, 2020

Julianne Odin

Title: Bridging the Divide: Latecomer and Newcomer at the Same Time

Co-presented with Lusiella Fazzino, University Libraries

US Electronic Thesis and Dissertation Association (USETDA) 2019 Conference, September 25-27, 2019

Renee Pistone

Title: Technology Driven Challenges Information Professionals and Academic Librarians Face: Internet of Things (IoT) as a Solution

American Journal of Information Science and Computer Engineering

Vol. 5, No. 2, 2019, pp. 72-76

Catherine Sheehan and Reba Weatherford

Title: Anatomy of a Naturalization Record: Assisting Users in Mining Records for Genealogy Gold

Poster presentation at the 28th Annual Conf. on Libraries and the Future: Libraries in a Post Privacy World, October 11, 2019.

Updated 5/3/23-MC