Beta Phi Mu Scholarships, Awards, and Fellowships

The 2020 Beta Phi Mu scholarship season is now OPEN. Applications will be accepted for all 2020 scholarships, except for the Sessa scholarships, from November 15, 2019 to March 15, 2019. 2020. Scholarship winners for 2020 will be announced at the ALA Annual Meeting in Chicago in June, 2020.

Beta Phi Mu offers four scholarships and manages the Eugene Garfield Doctoral Dissertation Fellowships; all are awarded annually. 
Click on the scholarship or award name for qualification criteria and for access to the online applications.

​Sarah Rebecca Reed – LIS Study     Up to two scholarships @ $ 2,250 each
For beginning LIS studies at an ALA accredited school.

Blanche E. Woolls – School Library Media Study    One scholarship @ $2,250
For beginning LIS studies with a concentration in School Library Media.

Frank B. Sessa – Continuing Education    Ten scholarships @ $150 each 
For continuing education of Beta Phi Mu members.

Harold Lancour – Foreign Research    One scholarship @ $1,750
For a librarian conducting research outside of Canada/USA.

Eugene Garfield Doctoral Dissertation Fellowship    Up to six fellowships @ $3,000 each
For doctoral students who are working on their dissertations in LIS and related fields.

​The Beta Phi Mu Scholarship Review Committee meets during May and recipients are announced at the Beta Phi Mu Business Meeting and Member Reception held in conjunction with the ALA Annual Meeting in June.

​Beta Phi Mu sponsors ALA’s Beta Phi Mu Award, an award of achievement to a library school faculty member or to an individual for distinguished service to education for librarianship. This award consists of $1,000 and a 24k gold-framed citation of achievement. It is given annually at the President’s Award Ceremony held at ALA’s Annual Meeting.

Visit the Award Archives and the BPM Award Winners page for lists of past winners for our scholarships and awards!