Association of Bookmobile and Outreach Services 2019 Awards -application deadline: July 31, 2019

The Association of Bookmobile and Outreach Services (ABOS) offers annual awards that recognize outstanding service, support for conference attendance, and the education of a student currently enrolled in a Library Science degree program.  Please consider applying for one of the awards and feel free to share the following information with your staff, colleagues and students.  Please encourage them to apply.

John Philip Excellence in Outreach Award – $300

The ABOS John Philip Excellence in Outreach Award is given to recognize outstanding contributions and prominent leadership by an individual in Bookmobile and Outreach Services. John Philip, known to all as “Mr. Bookmobile” spent his long and honorable career as an advocate of Bookmobile and Outreach Services. John Philip passed away on February 1, 2016. He is the “Father” of the National Bookmobile Conference which started in 1986 and has now evolved into the Association of Bookmobile and Outreach Services. Through his strong leadership and high profile advocacy, Bookmobiles have been recognized as a viable library outreach service. This award honors his dedication and tireless work and serves as a pinnacle for all Bookmobile and Outreach staff to aspire to reach.

Carol Hole Conference Attendance Award – Five (5) $500 travel grants

Carol Combs Hole provided exemplary leadership on behalf of libraries, bookmobile and outreach services throughout her 32 year career as a professional public librarian. She retired from distinguished service to the Alachua County Library District on March 1, 2006 and died on October 1, 2007. The five (5) $500 travel grants include free conference registration and a stipend for travel expenses and/or accommodations for the conference. The winners automatically will be registered for the conference.

Bernard Vavrek Scholarship – $1,000

In order to contribute to the education and training of library staff working in the area of bookmobile and outreach services, ABOS has created the Bernard Vavrek Scholarship. It is awarded annually to a student who has been accepted into or is currently enrolled in a Library and/or Information Science graduate degree program at an ALA accredited school, and who is interested in this particular field within the library profession. A check will be sent directly to the ALA accredited library school where the applicant is currently enrolled to be applied to the next term of study. Dr. Bernard Vavrek, Professor of Library Science and Chair of the Library Science Department at Clarion University, retired after teaching at Clarion from 1971-2008. He co-founded with John Philip the “Great American Bookmobile Conference,” running it for many years until ABOS was formed and took over management of the conference.  This scholarship honors Dr. Vavrek’s profound commitment to librarianship.

Check out the Awards on the ABOS website at:

The 2019 Conference will be held in Omaha, NE on October 23-25, 2019 at the Embassy Suites Omaha Old Market. Please share information about our scholarship, awards and conference with your students and faculty. 

The application deadline for this year’s awards is July 31 at 6p.m. EST.